Home > Qualifications > About CIPS Qualifications > Qualifications Review 2018

Qualifications Review 2018

CIPS has embarked on a review of its professional qualifications from Certificate through to Professional Diploma. This review ensures that CIPS qualifications will continue to meet the future challenges and demands of global organisations and the procurement and supply profession as a whole.  

What happens next?

No immediate changes will happen with your current study plan so don’t stop or delay your studies as everything that you have achieved will remain valid and transfer over when we update our qualifications.

Keeping you informed

To ensure that you recieve all communications about the progress of our qualifications review, please keep your contact details in your MyCIPS account up to date at all times. We will provide information about the review to all students in a timely way.

Speak to your CIPS Study Centre

You can also speak to a CIPS Study Centre about your studies as we provide them with regular updates as the qualifications review progresses.

When will the changes affect me?

Students on CIPS Certificate and Advanced certificate in procurement and supply operations qualifications

The remaining assessment opportunities on the current qualifications are May 2018, July 2018 and November 2018.

Students on Diploma, Advanced diploma and Professional diploma in procurement and supply qualifications

There will be no changes to these qualifications in 2018 so don’t stop or delay your studies. We will give your more details about the outcomes of the review of these existing qualifications in forthcoming communications scheduled throughout 2018.

Your questions answered

Why has there been a review?

The review is undertaken to ensure we continue to offer leading–edge thinking within our syllabus content. As employers demand for talented, qualified professionals continues to grow it’s no surprise to us that the needs and expectations of our learners also evolves.  

CIPS regularly reviews the structure and content of it’s qualifications.  Part of the reason for this is the commitment we have to our regulator, Ofqual.

Where do I get further information and who should I contact to discuss how the updated qualifications might impact upon my studies?

This is the dedicated webpage for updating communications to students about the Qualifications Review 2018. All relevant and up-to-date information can be found here. You should regard this page as your primary source for up to date information about the review.

You can also speak to a CIPS Study Centre about continuing your studies as we provide them with regular updates as the qualifications review progresses.

Another way of keeping up to date will be to read your monthly online student newsletter 'Knowledge Update' and look out for CIPS posts in our social media channels. 

We will also be providing regular email updates so it’s important to keep your email address up-to-date in your MyCIPS account.

When will the new learning resources be available?      

All of these resources are currently in production and will be released in time for studying towards the updated qualifications.

Certificate and Advanced certificate learning resources including coursebooks, ebooks and elearning will be available in August 2018. 

There will be no changes to the Diploma, Advanced diploma and Professional diploma resources in 2018.  We will give you more details about these resources in forthcoming communications scheduled throughout 2018.

All of the current resources in the Student Zone will continue to be a membership benefit for any of CIPS studying members.

Why are the updated Certificate qualifications available before Diploma level qualifications?

This is to give CIPS time to create all of the new resources for CIPS Study Centres and students.  CIPS has committed to producing new resources for tutors and learners in plenty of time before the updated qualifications are available.   

How much will the new Coursebooks cost?

A new price structure will be available during April 2018. Please make sure you keep your contact details up to date to ensure you receive communications. 

Will books be available online?              

We are currently developing paper based and e-books. We’ve listened to your feedback and our intention is to provide options for both starting from August 2018. 


How much will e-books cost?   

A new price structure will be available April 2018. Please make sure you keep your contact details up to date to ensure you receive communications.  


I’m halfway through my studies – what do the changes mean to me?

There is no need to stop what you are doing as everything already achieved will remain valid. We will be providing generic transfer information in April 2018 to demonstrate how the transfer arrangements will work from the 2013 to the 2018 updated qualifications.

Further information about how personal transitional arrangements will be provided in plenty of time for anyone partway through studies. It’s important to keep your contact details up to date in MyCIPS to ensure you receive update communications.


Will the way in which I am assessed change?    

Yes, we’ve listened to your feedback and there will be changes to the way you are assessed. Such as increased opportuntities for assessments throughout the year, giving the potential to speed up the time it takes produce results. These are all positive changes and will take into account the latest thinking and practice in terms of assessment. We will provide further information about assessment and price structure in April 2018.  

When will I take the new assessments?              

A new assessment schedule to follow the November 2018 assessment series is currently in development and we will provide this schedule in April 2018.