Home > About CIPS > Congress

Congress

The Congress is the Institute’s representative and advisory body, elected from and by the global membership.

If you are a member of Congress or a Branch Chair, log in here for full access.

Role

Its role is to represent the interests of the global membership and act as the ‘conscience’ of CIPS by influencing and guiding the Global Board of Trustees and holding the Board accountable against our Charter and charitable objectives, values and ethos.

Congress members form a communication channel between the members they represent and the leadership of the Institute. Congress is also the constitutional mechanism for electing 50% of the members of the Global Board of Trustees.

View full details of What is Congress?


FInd out more about CIPS Governance


Composition
Congress will have seats directly elected by the membership, plus a Chairman elected by Congress members.  Seat allocation is based on geographical regions:

Operation

Congress will typically meet twice in each financial year, normally in November and March. The March meeting will be a two-day event and will feed into the Institute’s strategy planning cycle.


Elections
Membership of Congress will be by open election and the ballot is conducted online. Candidates must be resident in the region they want to represent and students must meet additional eligibility criteria to enable full participation.

The term of office is three years and elections will be held each year to replace one third of the membership in a balanced sequence. 

Congress Members

Constituency

Name

E-mail Address

Three Nations

Carol Air

alertrgu@gmail.com

  Mary Davies mary.davies@dvla.gsi.gov.uk 
  Anne Langley langley_anne@yahoo.co.uk
  Sharon Smyth sharon.smyth365@btinternet.com 

 

Graeme Urquhart

Graeme.Urquhart@petrofac.com

     

North of England

Hayley Addison

Hayley.addison@dwp.gsi.gov.uk

 

Marc Hutchinson

marc.hutch@hotmail.co.uk

northofenglandcongress@cipsglobal.com

 

David Loseby

david.loseby@yahoo.com

 

Ian Robinson

ian.robinson@live.co.uk

  Michael Sellors michael.sellors@star-procurement.gov.uk
  Alison Simpson alisonjuliesimpson63@gmail.com

 

Bob Waddell

bob.waddell@ntw.nhs.uk

 

 

 

Central England

Jonathan Bearn

jonathan.bearn@rolls-royce.com

  Caroline Blackman-Edney edneycb@hotmail.com
  Melanie Heath melanie.heath@hotmail.com
  Gary Howard gary_howard@beaerospace.com

 

Alex Jennings

alexjennings68@yahoo.com

  Julia Miller juannmill60@outlook.com

 

John Moreton

johnwmbs@yahoo.com 

cleeview@gmail.com 

  David Pratt david@aba-procurement.com 

Penny Sayce psayce@hotmail.co.uk 
     

South of England

Richard Anstis

rickanstis@aol.com

  Lena Boghossian lenevia@hotmail.co.uk 
  Amanda Earnshaw **  
  Jacqueline Hart Jacqueline.hart@lloydsbanking.com

 

Argentina Hung  **

arghung@hotmail.com

  Shaun Mann shaun.mann@nhs.net 
  Martin Ratcliffe martin.ratcliffe@hammerson.com

 

Allan Robertson

agatrobertson@hotmail.com

 

Vincent Townsend

vincent.townsend@bankofengland.co.uk

     

Asia

Dr Geok Quee Ong

drgqong@lawsonconsulting.sg

 

Michael Richards

michael_richards@cathaypacific.com

mprichards@hotmail.co.uk

 

Jonathan Cheung **

 

     

Australasia

Mike Blanchard

mike.blanchard@xtra.co.nz

 

Hannah Bodilly

hbodilly@hotmail.com

     

Africa

Gbogboade Akindele

Gbogboade@yahoo.com

 

Daniel Bassey

daniel_bassey@yahoo.com

  Ellis Biryahwaho ebiryahwaho@gmail.com
  Ronald Mlalazi ronaldm@commerce-edge.com
  John Muthamia muthamiaj@yahoo.com
  Tom Tagoe tomtagoe@harleyreed.com
  Thapelo Senobe Ntesang **  
     

Americas

Anthony Fuller

anthonyfuller_jnr@yahoo.com

 

 

 

Europe John Everett **  
     

Middle East 

Adil Al Mulla

aalmulla@etihad.ae

Adilalmulla@gmail.com

     
Africa Student Naomi Wanjiku Kinyanjui   nkinyanjui@gmail.com
     
Australasia Student  Fiona MacDonald fiona.cips@gmail.com
     
Middle East Student Muhammad Awais Zeb **  
     
UK Student Talei Sinclair **  

 

 

** New or re-elected Congress member from 1 November 2017

Congress Chair

1 February 2015 to 31 October 2016

Congress Chair – Nikki Bell FCIPS, BA (Hons)

Nikki Bell

 

Nikki Bell, Head of Procurement and Commercial Policy & Project Assurance, Scottish Government
Nikki has worked in a number of private and public sector senior procurement and programme management roles since graduating in 1990 with a BA (Hons) in Business Economics and Marketing. With IBM, Hewlett-Packard and Agilent she gained extensive experience in leading national and international procurement and system transformation programmes. Since joining the Scottish Government in 2005 she has played a key role in driving and enabling public procurement reform in Scotland, with a particular focus on building Scottish Government’s Procurement, Commercial and Project Delivery skills. A Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply, Nikki sits on CIPS Global Board of Trustees; is Chair of CIPS Global Congress; and is a Member of the Institute of Directors. With specific interests in developing the capability of individuals, organisations, supply chains and our Procurement People of Tomorrow, she is a Member the Glasgow Caledonian University ‘School for Business and Society’ Advisory Group; Chair of the Scottish Professional Practice and Development Strategic Forum; and is an active contributor to the development and implementation of Scottish Government’s People Strategy.

Nikki Bell, Head of Commercial Policy & Project Assurance, Scottish Government
Nikki has worked in a number of private and public sector senior procurement and programme management roles since graduating in 1990 with a BA (Hons) in Business Economics and Marketing. With IBM, Hewlett-Packard and Agilent she gained extensive experience in leading national and international procurement and system transformation programmes. Since joining the Scottish Government in 2005 she has played a key role in driving and enabling public procurement reform in Scotland, with a particular focus on building Scottish Government’s Procurement, Commercial and Project Delivery skills. A Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply, Nikki sits on CIPS Global Board of Trustees; is Chair of CIPS Global Congress; and is a Member of the Institute of Directors. With specific interests in developing the capability of individuals, organisations, supply chains and our Procurement People of Tomorrow, she is a Member the Glasgow Caledonian University ‘School for Business and Society’ Advisory Group; Chair of the Scottish Professional Practice and Development Strategic Forum; and is an active contributor to the development and implementation of Scottish Government’s People Strategy.

Info

Key Dates for 2017:

30 November - 1 December 2017 - UK/ROW Congress & Branch Committee meeting - Ashorne Hill, Leamington Spa CV33 9QW

Key Dates for 2018:

22 - 23 March 2018 - Global Congress meeting - Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel, London

 

Contact details:

For Congress queries - congress@cips.org

For Branch queries - branchevents@cips.org